After President Ram Nath Kovind’s snub, 65th National Film Award winners to skip the ceremony?

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App
© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd It’s unfair. Also Read | National Film Awards 2018: LIVE UPDATES
Director Hansal Mehta, who has earlier won the National Film Award for his film Shahid, told, “It’s extremely disappointing. The National Film Awards are presented by the President and the winners consider it a privilege to be awarded by the hands of the President. Shekhar Kapur has said that there will be a decision made. Related News
68 awardees boycott National Film Awards 2018 ceremony; Twitterati laud the move65th National Film Awards: 50 skip film awards saying want it from President, not Ministers65th National Film Awards ceremony: Here’s everything that happenedThe 65th National Film Awards ceremony is going to be held at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi today and since this award is considered to be the highest honour in Indian cinema, those who win are more than elated to attend it. Many of the winners have decided to skip the ceremony because of the same. Today, Shekhar Kapur met with the upset winners and they requested him that they should be awarded by the President. Not to undermine any Minister but it’s the biggest recognition that an artiste gets from his or her nation and it’s given by the President. That’s humiliating.”
Whether all the National Film Awards will be presented by President Ram Nath Kovind, is yet to be announced. This year, however, will witness a change. This year, President Ram Nath Kovind will apparently only present the award in 11 categories. These winners had already reached Delhi and they were in the middle of their rehearsals when they were informed. But there’s no clarity as to what will finally happen.” Sandeep added that if the ceremony takes place, he will receive the award because he respects it and the nation but like others, even he wanted to receive it from the President. In a conversation with, Sandeep Pampally, who won the Best Jasari Film National Award for Sinjar, said: “Yesterday, during rehearsals we got to know that not all awards will be presented by the President and then the winners decided to boycott the ceremony. 2018-05-03T15:07:19+05:30″>
Updated: May 3, 2018 3:07:19 pm

National Film Awards: National Film Award winners had a chat with jury member Shekhar Kapur about their grievances.